About Us

Brief History


The history of The SEACEN Centre is closely tied with the annual meetings of the governors of the South East Asian central banks. The idea of setting up a centre for monetary studies and training in the region was mooted during the Second Governors Conference held in the Philippines in 1967. At their seventh meeting in Kuala Lumpur in 1972, the governors agreed for a single centre for both research and training be established in Kuala Lumpur. Work to establish The SEACEN Centre commenced in 1973. In 1982, The South East Asian Central Banks (SEACEN) Research and Training Centre was established as a legal entity. Since then, its membership has grown from eight central banks/monetary authorities to nineteen currently.

Since its inception in the early 1980s, The SEACEN Centre has established its unique regional position in serving its membership of central banks in the Asia-Pacific region through its learning programmes, research work, and networking and collaborative platforms for central banking capacity building. The SEACEN Centre’s programme offerings are currently focused in three central banking knowledge areas: Macroeconomic and Monetary Policy Management; Financial Stability Supervision and Payment and Settlement System; and Leadership and Governance.